Wiki Home Advanced configuration Disable flow control before teaming

Disable flow control before teaming

Flow control is the management of data flow between computers or devices or between nodes in a network so that the data can be handled at an efficient pace. Too much data arriving before a device can handle it causes data overflow, meaning the data is either lost or must be retransmitted.

Flow control of NIC plays a vital role in a diskless solution, as if flow control is enabled in NIC properties. Then it slows the rate at which the client gets data from the server. Typically, this would not make the performance worse, but when you have multiple NIC and you team them then flow control makes the link excessively slow if its enabled.

Issue:

We team NIC to remove the bottleneck of single NIC throughput, however if you team them without disabling the flow control and optimize the NIC . Then, after NIC teaming clients will still boot slow, games will still lag.

Solution:

Disable flow control of each NIC and optimize them before you team them.

To disable flow control, refer below

  1. Right-click your network controller and go to "Properties".
  2. Go to the "Advanced" tab.
  3. Locate "Flow Control" in the list.
  4. Set the value to "Disabled."
Related: